The greatest deception men suffer is from their own opinions.” –Leonardo da Vinci


The trinity is universally a symbol which we find in some form in every religion. In Egypt there was the Triad; a group of three deities, often taking the form of father, mother and child. Triads were treated as a single entity and can also be called trinities (Pinch, 2002). In Christianity, the Holy Trinity consists of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. The Nag Hammadi texts often discuss trinities: e.g. in the Secret Book of John there are both trinities of Mother-Father-Holy Spirit, and Father-Son-Holy Spirit (The Gnostic Society Library, 2005).


Before the concept of trinity, we must first study duality. It is stated in the Kybalion 52: “Everything is Dual; everything has poles; everything has its pair of opposites; like and unlike are the same; opposites are identical in nature, but different in degree; extremes meet; all truths are but half-truths; all paradoxes may be reconciled.” (Three Initiates, 1912)


52 See further in Appendix 1, where all the seven Principles of Nature are presented.


The principle of polarity (Appendix 1) means that everything has its opposite. In both worlds, visible and invisible, all things can be measured, and considered on a scale with two extremes. This is the core of Yin-Yang thinking. It can also be observed as a universal law, visible e.g. in the two poles of the Earth; in gametes, after merging, the first cell of the new human being also has two poles; and even the Kabbalistic Tree of Life describes this same knowledge with the two pillars (Leon, 13th century; Yochai, 1st-century).






Mona Lisa (La Gioconda, La Joconde)

1503 - ?

Musée du Louvre, Paris


La Gioconda, Leonardo's atelier

1503 – 1516

Museo Nasional del Prado, Madrid


Isleworth Mona Lisa

app. 1500 53

Mona Lisa Foundation, Zurich


Table 4. Information about the three Mona Lisas


53 No one seems to know the exact origin of the Isleworth Mona Lisa, although the Mona Lisa Foundation has produced scientific proof concerning the Louvre painting and their own: this proof demonstrates that the two Mona Lisas were painted at the same time and that either one of them could be a copy of the other one.


All the three Mona Lisas in the same image.

Image 51. The Trinity of Mona Lisas – Mother-Father-Child


The dualism in the Mona Lisas relates to Father and Mother. They are the masculine Sun and the feminine Moon. Pythagoras thought about this same dualism in Cosmos: “There is a good principle which created order, light, and man, and an evil principle which created chaos, darkness, and woman” (Prescott, 1995). We can find the Pythagorean characteristics in the two parent Mona Lisas. When Mother and Father form a union, the Child is born. This is the basic trinity of Nature. This is the process of creation and refinement in the world of plants, birds, fishes and animals (along with humans).


If we use the Kabbalistic Tree of Life as a map to realize this, the two pillars of masculine and feminine form the Child in the middle. At a certain point (= √153 ≈ 12.369 years old) the Child steps out of the innocence of childhood and is mentally exiled from paradise. The Child, growing into adolescence, begins to feel sexual passion, greed for money and wealth. From this point on, there is only one true duty and purpose in the Child’s life – to return home, to balance the spiritual Father and Mother. The journey begins by climbing the stairs of Heaven. He first climbs the masculine pillar, where the Child learns the lessons of Faith (= Trust) and Mercy. At the end of the first phase, the spiritual connection is formed, and thus Father/Truth/Knowledge is found. This is the union of Water. Next, the Way leads upside-down along the feminine pillar, where the Child learns the lessons of Hope and Severity. At the end of the second phase, the Child’s Soul is purified on all seven levels and thus, Life in its eternal form, is found. This is the union of Fire. For those, who last throughout the entire Way, climbing the both pillars of the Kabbalistic Tree of Life, the new union will be permanent. This is also the single most important lesson of Jesus Christ. He taught people by telling that he was the Way, the Truth and the Life –that everything is found from inside a person, not from the outside.


Because Truth and Life are found inside a person, it is critical to understand the structure of the soul. The human soul includes seven parts in total: consciousness, memory, creativity, will/self, reason, emotion and the subconscious.54 And because the language of the subconscious is the body language, also the actual human body belongs to the soul. The mind and the body are inseparable, and together, they belong to the soul. The soul, in turn, relates a person to Life, and that is why the mind and the body actually refine and move with the universe each moment. To be able to talk about illumination concerning the soul and heart of a person, a person really needs to know oneself, on all levels of one’s soul (and heart). Normally, this means years of hard work, together with getting familiar with concepts such as behavior, skills, beliefs, belief-systems, values, emotions, consciousness, and finally, with the whole identity, or a person’s own idea of him-/herself. The battle between the good and evil runs on this level, the level of identity, where the sacred name of God is always present.


54 See also Appendix 5 – the mental structure of the Heart. The Heart includes Spirit (2 parts) and Soul (7 parts) Notice the numbers 7 and 2.


FacebookTwitterGoogle BookmarksLinkedinPinterest

This website uses some cookies (only to analyse visitor count and to improve user-friendliness, not for sales or marketing).